Current PhD students

Brian Cope

Pete Furniss

Dimitris Papageorgiou

Marcin Pietruszewski

Dario Sanfilippo

José Rafael Subía Valdez

PhD Supervision Topics

Algorithmic composition, Composition, Computational, Contemporary, Electroacoustic, Improvisation, Performance, Technology

Michael Edwards is a composer, performer, and software developer. He is the author of the slippery chicken algorithmic composition package. His compositional interests lie mainly in the development of structures for hybrid electro-instrumental pieces through the integration of algorithmically produced scored materials with similarly generated computer-processed sound. He is also active as an improvisor on laptop, saxophones, and MIDI wind controller, performing for instance at the 2008 Montreaux Jazz Festival.

Michael's compositions have been played worldwide at many international festivals, including the Darmstadt Ferienkurse, the International Computer Music Conference (Banff, Havana, Ljubljana), the Zagreb Biennale, the Seoul International Computer Music Festival, etc., and by leading ensembles/performers such as Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Aventure, Ensemble Intercontemporain, IRCAM, Experimentalstudio Freiburg, Marcus Weiss, Sarah Nicolls, Rei Nakamura, and Garth Knox.

Michael studied composition at Bristol University with Adrian Beaumont (BA, MMus) and privately with Gwyn Pritchard. In 1991 he moved to the US for further studies in computer music with John Chowning at CCRMA, Stanford University (MA, Doctor of Musical Arts). Whilst studying there he also worked at IRCAM, Paris, with a residence grant at Cité des Arts. During 1996-7 he was a consultant software engineer in Silicon Valley and developed a Document Recognition System used in several US hospitals. In 1997 Michael was appointed Lecturer in Music Theory at Stanford but later that year moved to Salzburg, Austria. He was Guest Professor at the Universität Mozarteum until 2002, when he came to the University of Edinburgh.

For further information, including a complete work list, links to MP3s, CDs, score PDFs etc. see or

Recent commissions

  • new work - for the Aleph Guitar Quartet (Germany), 2014
  • new work - for for Bol and live electronics; Jean-François Laporte (Canada), Huddersfield Festival 2014
  • hyperboles are the worst thing ever - for flute and computer; Anne La Berge (US/Holland), 2014
  • their faces on fire - for baritone saxophone and computer; Gianpaolo Antongirolami (Italy), 2014
  • you are coming into us who cannot withstand you - for Ensemble Aventure, 2013
  • for rei as a doe - piano and computer, Rei Nakamura, Sound of Stockholm Festival 2012
  • don't flinch - for electric-acoustic guitar and computer, Yvonne Zehner, 2010/11
  • altogether disproportionate - piano solo, Per Rundberg, 2010
  • who says that, saying it's me? - tenor saxophone and computer, Marcus Weiss, 2009

Recent recordings

  • Programme Director: MSc in Digital Composition and Performance, PhD in Creative Music Practice
  • Real-Time Performance Strategies and Design
  • Non-Real Time Systems
  • Computer Programming for Music Technology
  • Music 2D: Theory and Practice of Music Technology
  • Composition 3 and 4
  • Digital Composition and Performance Final Project
  • Music 1B: Music and Technologies
  • Lecture notes available on teaching web page

Research interests

  • Instrumental Composition
  • Algorithmic Composition
  • Computer Music
  • Recording/Mixing/Mastering/Digital Signal Processing
  • Improvisation

Related links