Artists Renèe Helèna Browne, Ross Fleming, Emmie McLuskey, Sekai Machache and Matt Zurowski will join Talbot Rice Residents programme in January 2021 until the end of 2023. 

In this article, Stuart Fallon, Assistant Curator at Talbot Rice Gallery (TRG), explains more about the programme and introduces the new Residents. 

The Residents programme, set up in 2018, is designed to support the practice and career development of emerging artists based in Scotland. Each year we select five new artists from a nationwide Open Call.

The Residents are provided with time, space and financial support to develop their practice within the unique context of TRG, Edinburgh College of Art (ECA) and The University of Edinburgh. As well as curatorial, technical and career support from the TRG team, they have access to the Collections and vast academic resources of the University.

The Residents also have access to a studio-base and the technical facilities at ECA, crucially embedding them within the community, creating opportunities for interaction, shared learning and building connections with ECA students and members of staff.  

Emmie McLuskey, 'Private Lives' (2019) Photo: Cicely Farrer. Courtesy the artist.
Courtesy the artist
Emmie McLuskey, 'Private Lives' (2019) Photo: Cicely Farrer.

"The Residents are provided with time, space and financial support to develop their practice within the unique context of Talbot Rice Gallery, Edinburgh College of Art and The University of Edinburgh. "

Stuart Fallon, Assistant Curator at Talbot Rice Gallery

Our five new Residents bring with them a wide range of experience and diverse interests. Their practices explore pertinent and urgent social issues including; land-ownership in Scotland; post-colonial legacies; identity politics; and the history, structures and architecture of the University itself.

Within their proposals they have expressed intention to develop research in relation to, amongst others, the University’s School of Scottish Studies, Museums of Anatomy and Natural History, Centre of African Studies, the Ecology and Environmental Science department and the music archives of St Cecilia’s Hall.

Our new Residents join the five cohort 2 artists as they go into the second year of the programme, Jenny Hogarth, Sarah Rose, Rae-Yen Song, Eothen Stearn, Mona Yoo.

It’s always a great pleasure for us to work closely with some of the most exciting emerging talent in the country. We can’t wait to welcome them in January and look forward to joining them on their creative journeys!