Six PhD candidates from across ECA took part in the ECA heat of the prestigious 3 Minute Thesis Competition on 31st March 2016.

The 3MT competition was developed by the University of Queensland and has become a significant event for PhD communities across the world. It requires doctoral researchers to explain their research to a lay audience in just three minutes using only one slide.

Six students took part: Katie Forrester (School of Design); Dorothea Kalogianni (ESALA); Matluba Khan (ESALA); Tomke Kossen-Veenhuis (Reid School of Music); Patricia McMeans (School of Art); and Lisa Naas (School of Design).

The panel (comprising ECA academic and professional services staff) named the winners as Tomke Kossen-Veenhuis in first place, and Matluba Khan in second place. Tomke was also chosen as the ‘People’s Choice Winner’.

Tomke and Matluba received cash prizes and will now go forward to the CHSS heat, which takes place on Friday 22nd April, 2.00-4.30pm, room G.07, Informatics Forum, 10 Crichton Street. A drinks reception will follow the event in the Informatics Forum Atrium.