Musician Mira Benjamin playing the violin.


John Cage - She is Asleep

Thomas Stiegler - Inferner Park

Georgia Rodgers - St Andrew’s Lyddington

Galina Ustvolskaya - Sonata for Violin and Piano

Plus-Minus Ensemble: Mira Benjamin, violin; Mark Knoop, piano

Stiegler grapples with memory phenomena and instrumental corporeality in 16½ descriptions of drawings by Paul Klee. Ustvolskaya’s 1952 sonata tests both instruments and performers with its expressive extremes.

Plus-Minus Ensemble is a UK based ensemble committed to commissioning new work and placing it alongside recent and landmark modern repertoire. Formed in 2003, Plus-Minus is distinguished by its interest in performative, electroacoustic and conceptual pieces, and experimental open works such as Stockhausen’s 1963 classic, from which the group takes its name. Plus-Minus is directed by Matthew Shlomowitz, Vicky Wright and Mark Knoop.

Admission Free. Please reserve your place via Eventbrite.

Image credit: Sam Walton.

Event details

2 Jul '24
Edinburgh College of Art Main Building, West Court, 74 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh, EH3 9DF
Plus-Minus Ensemble: Mira Benjamin, violin; Mark Knoop, piano